Sundance 2021 Winners: ‘CODA’ wins four awards, including “Grand Jury Prize”

Sundance 2021 Winners: ‘CODA’ wins four awards, including “Grand Jury Prize”

“Summer Of Soul” won the U.S. Documentary Grand Jury and Audience grants.

The generally virtual 2021 Sundance Film Festival is finding some conclusion. The celebration reported honors victors Tuesday night, exchanging a man service for one transmission live and facilitated by Patton Oswalt.

The greatest victor was Sian Heder’s transitioning show “CODA,” which acquired four U.S. Dramatic Competition awards, including the Grand Jury Prize and Audience Award. Other Big victors were “Summer Of Soul (…Or, When The Revolution Could Not Be Televised),” which brought home the two top U.S. Documentary honors.

Blerta Basholli’s “Hive” won three honors in the World Cinema Dramatic Competition: the Directing and Audience grants and the Grand Jury Prize. Rintu Thomas and Sushmit Ghosh’s “Writing with Fire” procured two World Cinema Documentary honors.

A sum of 72 features screened in the course of the most recent week, alongside 50 shorts, four Indie Series, and 14 New Frontier VR/new media projects.

Those tasks were decided by a jury comprised of Zeynep Atakan, Raúl Castillo, Ashley Clark, Julie Dash, Tacita Dean, Cynthia Erivo, Isaac Julien, Inge de Leeuw, Kim Longinotto, Laura Mulleavy, Kate Mulleavy, Joshua Oppenheimer, Mohamed Ouma Saïd, Jean Tsien, Daniela Vega, Lana Wilson, and Hanya Yanagihara.

Despite the fact that this year denoted the principal virtual celebration, the celebration opened solid with a procession of buzzy titles that procured basic recognition, including Sian Heder’s show about a hard of hearing family and their hearing little girl, “CODA”; Jonas Poher Rasmussen’s energized displaced person narrative “Escape”; and Ahmir “Questlove” Thompson’s music narrative “Summer of Soul (… Or, When the Revolution Could Not Be Televised).”

Other champions from later in the celebration incorporate Rebecca Hall’s racial dramatization “Passing,” Dash Shaw’s hallucinogenic energized story “Cryptozoo,” and Jamila Wignot’s Alvin Ailey narrative “Ailey.”

The celebration was strong from a business point of view too. Apple’s $25 million obtaining of “CODA” under two days after it debuted crushed a business record set a year ago. Neon got “Flee” and “Ailey,” while Sony Pictures Classics made another conspicuous dramatic pickup with “Jockey.”

More deals action is normal in the coming days, as merchants stay occupied with offering battles for a few titles needing appropriation.

Below check out the complete list of winners.


Special Jury Award for Acting: Deanna Gibson, “Wiggle Room”

Special Jury Award for Screenwriting: Serhat Karaaslan, “The Criminals”

Jury Award, Animation: “Souvenir Souvenir,” dir. Bastien Dubois

Jury Award, Non-Fiction: “Don’t Go Tellin’ Your Momma,” dir. Topaz Jones and rubberband

Jury Award, International Fiction: “Bambirak,” dir. Zamarin Wahdat

Jury Award, U.S. Fiction: “The Touch of the Master’s Hand,” dir. Gregory Barnes

Grand Jury Prize: “Lizard,” dir. Akinola Davies Jr.


NEXT Audience Award Presented by Adobe: “Mama Belle, My Beauty,” dir. Marion Hill

NEXT Innovator Award Presented by Adobe: “Cryptozoo,” dir. Run Shaw

World Cinema Documentary

Extraordinary Jury Award in Verite Filmmaking: “President,” dir. Camilla Nielsson

Extraordinary Jury Award: Impact for Change: “Writing With Fire,” dir. Rintu Thomas and Sushmit Ghosh

Directing Award: Hogir Hirori, “Sabaya”

Great Jury Prize: “Flee,” dir. Jonas Poher Rasmussen

Audience Award: “Writing With Fire,” dir. Rintu Thomas and Sushmit Ghosh

World Cinema Dramatic

Extraordinary Jury Award for Acting: Jesmark Scicluna, “Luzzu”

Extraordinary Jury Award for Creative Vision: “One for the Road,” dir. Baz Poonpiriya

Directing Award: Blerta Basholli, “Hive”

Grand Jury Prize: “Hive,” dir. Blerta Basholli

Audience Award: “Hive,” dir. Blerta Basholli

US Documentary

Audience Award: “Summer Of Soul (…Or, When The Revolution Could Not Be Televised),” dir. Ahmir “Questlove” Thompson

Special Jury Award for Emerging Filmmaker: “Cusp,” dir. Parker Hill and Isabel Bethencourt

Extraordinary Jury Award for Nonfiction Experimentation: “All Light, Everywhere,” dir. Theo Anthony

Jonathan Oppenhein Editing Award: Kristina Motwani and Rebecca Adorno, “Homeroom”

Directing Award: Natalia Almada, “Clients”

Grand Jury Prize: “Summer Of Soul (…Or, When The Revolution Could Not Be Televised),” dir. Ahmir “Questlove” Thompson

US Dramatic

Crowd Award: “CODA,” dir. Sian Heder

Special Jury Award for Acting: Clifton Collins Jr., “Jockey”

Special Jury Award for Best Ensemble: “CODA”

Waldo Salt Screenwriting Award: Ari Katcher and Ryan Welch, “On the Count of Three”

Directing Award: Sian Heder, “CODA”

Grand Jury Prize: “CODA,” dir. Sian Heder

Trupti Sutar

error: Content is protected !!